Explore Your Parks



Mission  History  Staff  



The mission the Seneca Parks is to preserve, protect, manage, and promote our natural resources; to educate and develop an appreciation of the natural, rural, historical, and cultural aspects of Seneca County.

Wherever you live in Seneca County, the park district has a nature preserve near you to visit and enjoy. The parks are filled with hundreds of species of native flora and fauna that define the unique nature of our particular homeland. Each preserve has unique features, including trails, wetlands, ponds, rivers and creeks, woods, open meadows and grasslands, crop lands, horseback riding trails, cabins and blacksmith shops, shelters, observation decks, picnic tables, playgrounds, and more.

View our Program Guide  Download Park Map

Preserving Seneca County’s Heritage

The Seneca County Park District would not exist without the generous donations of area individuals and families, the support of our community, and the commitment of staff and volunteers.

The Seneca County Park District was formed in 1996 with the authorization of the Seneca County Commissioners and the first park board was appointed by the Probate Judge Gerald Meyer in November 1996. The Park was volunteer-operated from 1996 through 2016, when the first 10-year operational levy was supported and passed by the community.

The Park acquired its first property, 256 acres named Garlo Heritage Nature Preserve, through a gift from Dr. Garlo and his two daughters, Alma and Dolly, in 1997. Since then, six other nature preserves were acquired and developed, as well as four additional properties in cooperative management with state and community partners, for a total of 738 acres in 11 parks.

The Seneca County Park District Board of Park Commissioners is comprised of 5 community members, volunteering their time, with each term lasting 3 years. The Probate Judge may appoint members for up to 3 consecutive terms. 

The following is a list of Board Members since 1996. Thank you for your service!

Jacob Price
Jakob Boehler
Janet Shutt
Lee Martin
Lori Hall

William J. McAllister
Carl Miller
James S. Nordholt, Jr.
Roland Zimmerman
Roy S. Zinn
Jim E. Bailey
Linda Anderson
Thomas Bartlett
Russell Rife
Thomas Corner



Sarah Betts

Executive Director

Sarajane Mangett

Park Technician




Grady Moon

Park Technician

Linda Rose

Naturalist & Preschool Coordinator

Shelly Smola

Business Manager


Tammy Vargo

Naturalist & Preschool Assistant

Kim Wickman

Operations Manager

Melanie Zender

Park Manager

program participants



programs provided






Public Records Requests:

To assist the public in making a records request, the Park District offers a Public Records Request Form for requestors to use if they so wish.

Please review our Public Records Policy here.

Please review our Records Retention Schedule here.



Park Office
3362 S. TR 151
Tiffin, Ohio 44883
Mon & Tue:  8:30AM - 4:00 PM
Wed - Fri:     by appointment

Phone: (419) 447-8091

Contact Us

Please provide the following information and a member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.

This field is required
A valid email address is required
This field is required
This field is required
Copyright © 2023 Seneca County District Parks. All rights reserved.